July: Book Case Browse

Here I’ll be recommending a book that I stumbled upon. This book could be a grudging member of my Book Case, or a red carpet VIP. The honest review I give out and the latest ‘pineapple’ rating addition give you your space to make the decision of the big question: To Read or Not To Read. Don’t worry, I will never be giving out the plot line so the former option will always be open.

Feature of the month: When Dimple met Rishi by Sandhya Menon.

This YA book captured my heart in so many ways. Except one: the premise it was constructed upon. I am familiar with Indian customs, but families living in the USA aren’t all that backward that they will arrange marriages for their children at the young age of 18 years. And the children will even be open to this idea. I certainly wasn’t and supported Dimple completely for focusing on her career and getting that sort of fulfillment from life rather than hunting for the I.I.H (you gotta read the book to get this) at that age.

However, overlooking that concept (it was hard, but not impossible), the book is actually quite fantastic. And very well structured and organized. It focuses on a lot of issues that YAs deal with, without being pushy and over the top. There is absolutely nothing in this book that feels unreal or fake. Sandhya Menon has done a great job of capturing what it’s like to be in that situation and dealing with the drama that is part of the package. All characters that should be developed are very well developed and you really feel like you know their dispositions by the end of the book. And sometimes there’s nothing better than that feeling of closure.

I’ve been in a dilemma of whether to say this or not. After a lot of debating I’ll give out just one “spoiler”, only because I think I would’ve wanted to know this before I started reading the book. The book has a happy ending! There, I said it.

I haven’t watched the movie When Harry met Sally, so I can’t confirm if this plot line is similar to the movie’s (even though the title is). But it is a really great, heart-warming and mood-lifting read for all YAs and even As that have mushy hearts which reach out to absolutely lovable romances. As one critic explained it by saying that this is a book you didn’t know you needed in your life.

 

Rating: 🍍🍍🍍🍍 ( / 5)

 

love,

m.v

 

 

Leave a Reply

